Results:
Tag: history
Clear
  • Storyteller Larry Brown Shares "Tricksters, Trailblazers, and Teachers: Missouri Historical Heroes"

    Mark Twain Lake, Monroe City, Missouri—On August 2nd 2015 Larry Brown will share two sets of
  • Norfolk 135: James B. Quinn

    James Baird Quinn; born June 9, 1843; emerged from the U.S. Military Academy as a second lieutenant in 1866, the same year President Andrew Johnson formally declared an end to the U.S. Civil War.
  • Nashville District showcasing historical maps from 1800s

    NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Sept. 16, 2014) – An 1874 military map of Middle Tennessee and 1888 map of Muscle Shoals were recently restored and replicas of them are now being showcased in the Barlow Conference Room located at the headquarters of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Nashville District.
  • Norfolk District 135: Gustav J. Fiebeger

    Fiebeger became the fifth in command of what would later become the Norfolk District when he took over as officer in charge on July 1, 1890.
  • Tulsa's military mission continues 75 years later

    The Tulsa District of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers was birthed as powers in Europe and Asia
  • Norfolk District 135: William Price Craighill

    William Price Craighill was the fourth officer in charge of what would later become the Norfolk District, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. He became the Corps’ first Southeast Division Engineer, overseeing coastal fortification projects in Hampton Roads.
  • Sacramento District archaeologist helps preserve “layer cake” of history

    Over 1,900 acres of Northern California property located between Folsom and El Dorado Hills is like “a layer cake of modern history,” according to Erin Hess, an archaeologist with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Sacramento District Regulatory Division. “This area includes everything from remnants of placer mining, hydraulic mining, dredge mining, dairy operations, roadside inns from the 1800s all the way up to Cold War-era missile research facilities,” said Hess.
  • Norfolk District 135: Frederick A. Hinman

    Frederick A. Hinman removed sunken vessels “obstructing or endangering navigation,” including the barge Albemarle near Hog Island lighthouse in Virginia, the schooner Maria and Elizabeth near Cape Charles lighthouse in Virginia, the schooner Tarry Not near Craney Island near the mouth of the Nansemond River, the schooner Anthea Godfrey in “Lynn Haven Roads, Virginia” [sic] (which was destroyed by explosives after having shown the wreck and cargo were valueless), and the steamer Concord, which was burned and sunk in the Pamplico River near Washington, North Carolina.
  • Norfolk District 135: James Mercur

    On June 15, 1881, Capt. James Mercur took command as the second engineer in charge of the Norfolk office after Capt. Charles B. Phillips, the first engineer in charge, died while still in command. He was in charge of improving the Norfolk, Virginia and Beaufort and Edenton, North Carolina harbors; Cape Fear River and Currituck Sound
  • Norfolk District 135: Charles B. Phillips

    Editor’s note: Beginning July 1, 2014, Norfolk District celebrates its 135 Anniversary. Stay with us throughout the year as we look back at our former commanders, completed projects and distinguished employees. On July 1, 1879, Capt. Charles B. Phillips became the Engineer in Charge of the United States Engineer Office in Norfolk, which was the predecessor to the Norfolk District.