Home > Media > News Archive > Story Article View

Posted 2/26/2013

Bookmark and Share Email Print

By Raini Brunson

The 2013 Black Engineer of the Year Award (BEYA) Conference was held earlier in February, at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel in Northwest, Washington D.C. The BEYA Conference, one of Career Communications Group, Inc. signature events, is designed to recognize the best and the brightest talent in the Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) career fields. The event not only highlights talent within the professional sectors, but also honors those up-and-coming individuals who are students majoring in STEM-related fields.

This year, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers had 18 award winners spanning the areas of the Most Promising Engineer, the Science Spectrum Trailblazer, and the Modern-Day Technology Leader. The Most Promising Engineer category recognizes engineers in the early years (3-10 years) of their careers who demonstrate tremendous potential for future technical contributions. The Science Spectrum Trailblazer spotlights minority men and women who are actively creating new paths for others in science, research, technology, and development. Finally, the Modern-Day Technology Leader category honors both men and women who are shaping the future of engineering, science, and technology.

Congratulations to all of USACE’s BEYA Winners. The 2013 recipients are as follows:

  1. Tonya Bazemore (Architect, Japan District) – Most Promising Engineer
  2. Michelle Wynter (Research Biologist, Engineer and Research Development Center) – Science Spectrum Trailblazer
  3. Wayne Hodo (Research Civil Engineer, Engineer and Research Development Center) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  4. Dr. Elaine Hulitt (Computer Scientist, Engineer and Research Development Center) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  5. Charles Stokes, Jr. (Civil Engineer, Vicksburg District) – Modern- Day Technology Leader
  6. Kenneth Clair (Engineering Technician, Chicago District) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  7. Kimberly Spicer (Civil Engineer, Nashville District) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  8. Dornesia Ward (Information Technology Project Manager, Headquarters) – Modern- Day Technology Leader
  9. Marniesha Richard (Civil Engineer, Vicksburg District) - Modern-Day Technology Leader
  10. Chimeadu Ewoh (Civil/Structural Engineer, New Orleans District) - Modern -Day Technology Leader
  11. Anisha Downs (Project Manager, Far East District (Korea) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  12. Marcus Williams (Civil Engineer, Sacramento District) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  13. Shanna Travis (Executive Office, Headquarters) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  14. Dr. Robert Wright (Supervisory Project Engineer, Baltimore District) – Modern-Day Technology Leader
  15. Olton Swanson (Deputy District Engineer, Seattle District) - Special Recognition
  16. Lt. Col. Calvin Hudson (Commander, 249th Engineer Battalion) - Special Recognition
  17. Timothy Brown (Senior Project Manager, Jacksonville District) - Special Recognition
  18. Legese Abebe (Civil Engineer, San Francisco District) - Modern-Day Technology Leader

award winners BEYA DC STEM washington